The twenty-eighth Exe Sails and Covers Starcross Steamer was held on Sunday February 25th . This was the second race of the three race South West Series and the seventh in the longer new 10 race Sailing Southwest series. The Steamer is getting more and more popular and the limit of 100 boats was reached within a week of the entries being open, over a month before the event.

The winning boat was a Merlin sailed by Jon Gorringe and Matt Currall with Chris Gould and Caroline Croft in another Merlin 2nd and Chris Hampe sailing an International Canoe in 3rd place. 

Click here for the full results (updated 1 March) and here for some fine photographs taken by Garnett Showell.

Steamer 2018

The first start was at 12:30 with the RS Feva helmed by Rupert Hill and crewed by Tesni King, followed 15 minutes later by the Solo of Simon Deeks and Enterprise of Paul Young and Freya Mason. The largest fleet this year were the Merlins with 13 entries, followed by 8 RS400’s, and fleet of 6, of both Lasers and RS Aero’s.

The battle for the lead was on, clearly it wasn’t a Solo day as Simon was quickly passed, but another single hander the Laser of Ben Flower soon established a commanding lead, followed by the rather flashy new RS200 of Olly Turner and Sam Mottershead, who could only very slowly reduce the Laser’s lead. Two thirds of the way through the race it appeared that the high performance boats with either wings or trapeze would get to the front before the end of the race. But cruelly for them during the last 30 minutes of the race, the wind dropped a couple of knots and the advantage they had over the sitting out boats disappeared. The reduction in wind didn’t appear to effect Chris Hampe expertly sailing an International Canoe as he made steady progress through the fleet.

Steamer 2018

At the end of the race, clearly it was a Merlin day, in the lead was Jon Gorringe and Matt Currall, followed by another Merlin of Chris Gould and Caroline Croft. Third was Chris Hampe with Ben Flower fourth and Olly and Sam just behind in fifth.

With the moderate wind, and the way the course was set up, neither the single or double handers were favoured, it was a true test of skill with nine classes in the top 10, including three different single handers. It also reflects the accuracy of the Great Lakes handicap numbers which we use for the Steamer for open waters like the Exe Estuary.

With one of the biggest Steamer fleets ever, special thanks must go to Lympstone Sailing Club, Exe Sailing Club, Topsham Sailing Club and David Attenburrow for their generous help with the Safety boat duties. Together with the three club safety boats, we were confident that any challenges could be dealt with easily. It takes a huge effort to put on the Steamer every year, so my thanks to the galley for producing more hot food and drink than ever before, the multihull fleet and non sailing members from Starcross who give up their time to organize and man the event.

Steamer 2018

A special mention must be given to Sam Woolner of Exe Sails and Covers for supplying the fantastic prizes, which were appreciated by everyone. In total over 60 volunteers are required on the day both on and off the water and we look forward to doing it all again next year. Thank you also to the competitors who travel to Starcross every year, to make the Steamer so memorable. The difficult tides next year have made finding a suitable date very difficult, so after much debate we have decided to hold the Steamer for the first time ever on a Saturday, that date being March 16th 2019, so please make a note in your diary now.

Planning for next year’s event has already started and we look forward to welcoming both old and new faces. A full list of the winners can be seen at the Starcross Yacht Club web site by clicking here.

1 st Jon Gorringe and Matt Currall Merlin Rocket 3791 Parkstone YC

2 nd Chris Gould and Caroline Croft Merlin Rocket 3778 Blithfield SC

3 rd Chris Hampe Int. Canoe 340 RYA

4 th Ben Flower Laser 173126 Starcross YC

5 th Olly Turner and Sam Mottershead RS 200 1667 Starcross YC

6 th Mark Barnes and Charlotte Horlock B14 795 Whitstable YC

7 th Peter Barton RS Aero 7 2093 Lymington Town SC

8 th Hugh Kingdon Blaze 803 North Devon YC

9 th Chris Gill and Adam Broughton Fireball 15083 Portishead

10 Th Simon Hawkes Phantom 1454 Wimbleball SC

First Lady Helm Emma Stevenson Osprey 1088 Weymouth SC

First Lady Crew Caroline Croft Merlin Rocket 3778 Blithfield SC

First Junior Noah Rees RS Aero 7 1230 Torpoint Mosquito SC